top of page

Weekly Blog #27

This past week, more specifically last Thursday night, I was able to gain exposure to one o the most moving and helpful events in regards to international human rights. I had the opportunity to attend the annual fundraiser banquet for the African Leadership and Reconciliation Ministries. I was invited to attend by my mentor, Ms. Dianne Carlson.

While at the event, Ms. Carlson was kind enough to introduce me to a variety of people who have an interest in the field of human rights. For example, I was able to expand my network to people who worked with refugees in African countries such as South Sudan and Rwanda. In addition, I was able to speak with some people who are from Africa, and have escaped persecution. It was incredible to listen to these moving stories, which were paired with fascinating video clips displayed on a monitor. The structure of these clips shown throughout the banquet presentation were exemplary, especially in regards to the structure of the interviews which were embedded throughout the short clips.

In addition to the delicious food that was provided at the banquet, the night was well equipped with a fair share of knowledgeable and passionate guest speakers, who elaborated upon the importance of upholding human rights internationally.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page