top of page

Weekly Blog #22

This week has been filled with planning for the accumulation of research for my final product. I have spent the majority of my time this week researching different countries such as Venezuela, Romania, South Sudan, and Cameroon, and discovering their unique aspects concerning the state of human rights protection or lack thereof. After speaking with Ms. Carlson and Mr. Winn on the subject, I have determined that I am going to include 3 countries in my study that are struggling with the enforcement of treaties and statutes that uphold human rights standards (Romania, Venezuela, and Cameroon); I have found that some of these countries simply do not obtain solid laws that depict specific protections. In addition to these 3 countries, I intend to incorporate another country that will serve as a “success story” or a case study that has seen improvement in the area of human rights (South Sudan). After speaking to Ms. Carlson and learning more about the organization she works for (African Leadership & Reconciliation Ministries), I have determined that South Sudan would be a good fit for this category, simply because the ALARM organization has been working with that country for several years, and has seen improvement due to the legal structure and reconciliation plans they have been implementing. In addition to doing research over these countries, I have been planning and scheduling opportunities to conduct interviews, as well as observations. For example, tomorrow I am planning to attend a meeting with my mentor, Ms. Carlson, and several other attorneys. In this meeting, they will be discussing a collaboration with “Serve Denton”, a nonprofit organization that allows people to become self-sufficient through providing affordable office space for other non-profits, which increases collaboration and communication. This unique opportunity will allow me to incorporate interviews in my documentary (which will be recorded on my phone), with these lawyers. This will be the beginning of several opportunities for me to learn more about justice initiatives and human rights, while accumulating footage for my documentary.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page