top of page

Weekly Blog #14

This past week I have been able to conduct my sixth informational interview. The interview was conducted with Ms. Dianne E. Carlson, employment lawyer, Global Legal Consultant, and Community Development Advocate at Carlson Legal, PLLC. Despite Ms. Carlson’s work at large law firms such as Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LL and Greenberg Traurig, LLP for about thirty years, she has recently decided to branch out on her her own to create her own privately owned firm, facilitating out of her house.

I initially got Ms. Carlson’s contact information with the help of Coach Goff and was able to email her throughout this week discussing the informational interview. For the interview, we met at a Starbucks in between her office and my school. During the conversation, we discussed her many types of law she has experience in, as well as her involvement in human rights law. Ms. Carlson specifically elaborated upon her experience with international affairs and her specific involvement in regards to human trafficking. Her stories and pieces of advice were insightful and extremely helpful to my learning process in ISM. However, what I found most fascinating was her reasoning for her response to my question in regards to the United Nations’ inability to effectively enforce policies and treaties in countries that are experiencing desperate human rights violations. Ms. Carlson explained that one way to enforce the policies is by sending in troops to manually enforce law by putting pressure on governments. Another way to enforce policy, is by eliminating and illegalizing the employment of educated U.S and UK citizens, who comprise the majority of their workforce for international companies and corporations in countries which violate the treaties.

I currently have another interview scheduled this upcoming Wednesday at 4 o'clock, with Mr. David Winn, director and vice president at the Center for American and International Law. As I continue my journey in ISM, I hope to find the right mentor who is able to guide my in the development of my original work and final product.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page