top of page

Weekly Blog #12

This past week has been very busy and honestly quite hectic, in regards to my ISM research speech, creating my display board plan, creating my invitation and guest list for the ISM research showcase at the Star, which is scheduled for January 17th. Last week was somewhat challenging, while balancing ISM showcase preparation and the rest of my school work towards the end of the six weeks. However, it astonishes me how fast the showcase is approaching, and I hope that when the showcase finally does come, I am able to present and execute all that I have learned in ISM with grace and professionalism.

This week, I also had the opportunity to give the longest speech I have ever given in my entire school career. Even though the range for the research speech was estimated to be about ten minutes, mine lasted about eighteen. While giving my research speech, I realized two things. One of which, is that I have learned and absorbed more than I thought I have through my research process, which is evident when I get the opportunity to elaborate upon the different research assessments and interviews I have conducted. However, the second thing I realized was that I am in desperate need of practicing my public speaking skills and having more experience in that aspect. Even though I feel that I excel in carrying out professional one-on-one conversations with others, I feel that I experience a slight challenge in speaking in front of a large group. Despite this, I also feel that if I continuously practice public speaking during future ISM speech assignments, I will be able to give an effective and meaningful speech by final presentation night at the end of the year.

After conducting all five of my required informational interviews and assessments, I made the decision to send a humbled mentor request to Professor Natalie Nanasi, a professor at SMU and Director of the Judge Elmo B. Hunter Legal Center for Victims of Crimes Against Women. After my interview with Professor Nanasi, I was completely taken aback by her level of expertise and her thorough experience in the field. She was captivating when she described her stories and previous experiences, and her perspective in the field was thought provoking. She humbly gave me excellent wisdom and advice which applied to not only my anticipated future career, but also to life in general. However, she so graciously denied my request due to her time commitments, which is entirely understandable.

Despite this minor drawback, I am eager to send another humble mentor request to another professional in the human rights field who is willing to guide me throughout the rest of my learning process in ISM.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page