top of page

Weekly Blog #11

This past week I have been able to witness the culmination of all of my efforts so far this year in ISM. I have been able to synthesize all of my research and consolidate my cumulative knowledge over international human rights law, within my preparation for my display board and my preparation for my research speech. I believe that since the beginning of my year in ISM, my knowledge over international human rights law has grown tremendously. I feel that I have been able to gain the most valuable information from my research assessments and informational interviews. Through these two methods of research, I have broadened my perspective on human rights issues around the world, including but not limited to, the torture chambers in Cameroon, the genocide in Myanmar and the political crisis in Venezuela. In addition to learning about these situations, I have been able to take it a step further, by analyzing what domestic and international laws I would apply to the situation if I were litigating the case. All of these new strategies I have learned are represented in my speech and display board plan, both which I have prepared this past week.

Even though the ISM deadline for conducting five informational interviews is fast approaching, I have made every effort to confirm an interview with Professor Natalie Nanasi, a law professor at SMU with expertise in humanitarian immigration law, and domestic violence, and clinical legal education. I am exited to conduct my interview with her on Wednesday, the 15th at 1:30 PM, because she had been involved in so many interesting legal opportunities before teaching at SMU. According to the SMU website, Professor Nanasi has earned the Equal Justice Foundation fellowship for her work at the South Asia Human Rights Documentation Center in New Delhi, India, where she assisted in defending of HIV-positive immigrants. Also, prior to her legal career. Professor Nanasi was a rape crisis counselor and supported single teenage mothers at a transitional residence facility in Boston. Overall, I find Professor Nanasi’s credentials fascinating and I anticipate my interview with her this upcoming week. After my interview with Professor Nanasi, I will have conducted five informational interviews. By next week I hope to send an email to my chosen mentor, asking if they are willing to guide me throughout the rest of my learning process in ISM.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page