top of page

Weekly Blog #6

This week has been a remarkable learning experience for me in my field of study. Due to my growing network of connections on LinkedIn, I have been able to get in contact with Ms. Patricia Davis, a Title IX Litigation attorney at Farrow-Gillespie & Heath LLP. This past week I was able to conduct an informational interview with her at her office in Downtown Dallas, and had the opportunity to gain a deeper understanding of human rights law, specifically Title IX litigation. After listening to Ms. Davis’ take on human rights and her perspective as a Title IX attorney, I instantly became fascinated with this type of law.

This week, I learned that Title IX is a law under the Education Amendments Act of 1972, stating that no U.S citizen shall be subjected to discrimination under any educational program receiving Federal funding, on the basis of sex. From the interview, I was also able to understand that Title IX discrimination is not only limited to discrimination against women athletes in educational athletic programs. It can also include protection from sexual harassment and assault. After listening to Ms. Davis’ experiences as a Title IX attorney, I became captivated by this new aspect of human rights law. Through my conversation with Ms. Davis, it rapidly came to my attention that the protection of those subject to sexual harassment on school grounds is essential, and that it is necessary to advocate for these students so that they are able to achieve safety on campus.

Through continuous exposure to professional interview settings, I feel that I have sharpened my interviewing skills dramatically. In addition, I believe that my recent participation in the ISM Business Symposium has also strengthened my professional interviewing and networking skills.

Overall, my interview experience with Ms. Patricia Davis has allowed me to broaden my perspective within my field of study, and has allowed me to gain exposure to new kinds of human rights law. I feel that this exposure has been highly beneficial to me as an ISM student, because it has allowed me to better understand the different layers within human rights law as a whole.

I am also currently in contact with other professional human rights attorneys via email, and am excited to confirm interview times with them in the near future. By the end of this semester, it is my goal to complete my informational interviews, and confirm a mentor who is willing to guide me in my learning process.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page